New measures to strengthen border measures

1. Additional designation of areas subject to the entry ban

Designating the entire areas of 21 European countries listed below* and Iran as areas subject to the entry ban. Banning the entry of foreigners who visited the areas within the last 14 days unless there are special circumstances.

*Ireland, Andorra, Italy, Estonia, Austria, the Netherlands, Switzerland, Sweden, Spain, Slovenia, Denmark, Germany, Norway, Vatican, France, Belgium, Portugal, Marta, Monaco, Liechtenstein and Luxemburg

2. Strengthened quarantine

Calling upon people arriving from 7 countries in South East Asia listed below^{*}, Israel, Qatar, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Bahrain to wait 14 days at a location designated by the quarantine station chief and to refrain from using public transportation.

*Indonesia, Singapore, Thailand, the Philippines, Brunei, Vietnam and Malaysia.

- 3. Visa restrictions
- (1) Suspending validity of single or multiple-entry visa issued by March 27 at Japanese Embassies or Consulates General located in the countries listed in paragraph 2 above.
- (2) Suspending visa exemption measures for the countries listed in paragraph 2 above.
- (3) Suspending validity of Pre-Clearance granted to APEC Business Travel Card (ABTC) issued by the countries listed in paragraph 2 above, as well as China, including Hong Kong, and the Republic of Korea (the ROK)
- 4. Continuation of the measures currently being implemented in relation to China and the ROK

Renewing the period of strengthened quarantine, restriction on airports/ports for arrival from China or the ROK and visa restrictions to be implemented until the last day of March, which was decided at the 17th meeting of Novel Corona Virus Response Headquarters held on March 5, and implementing them until the last day of April. The period can be renewed.

5. After 26 March, it will take longer than usual to examine visa application, including those that have already been applied

*The measures described in paragraph 1 above will be implemented from 0:00 am on March 27 (Japan Standard Time (JST)) and remain in place for a period. However, the measures will not be applied to those who have departed before their implementation and arrived in Japan after their implementation.

**The measures described in paragraph 2 above will be applied to the passengers of aircrafts and ships which have departed those places after 0:00 am on March 28 (JST), and be implemented until the last day of April. The period can be renewed.

***The measures described in paragraph 3 above will be implemented from 0:00 am on March 28 (JST) until the last day of April. The period can be renewed.